An angry design post

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 3.42.02 PM

An angry design post

Ex-xxx-clusive by the former Admin N, and the new ‘N’:

Disclaimer: no animals or self-proclaimed designers were harmed during the making of this post. However, if the design patterns in this country don’t change, I will hunt you down and I will kill each and every one of you.

Yes, this is an angry post.

I feel like our design schools are failing us, or maybe there’s a epidemic in this country that is hitting every “self-taught” Photoshop geek who wanted to be a designer but daddy wouldn’t let him (probably because daddy knew his kid sucks). But the point is, our city is being invaded by species who think they can design, they charge less and they are more desperate for work, so they don’t say no. Meanwhile, there’s a whole community of good designers out there who can barely make ends meet because they know a thing or two, and they have principles.

Fact is I can’t change that; I won’t even attempt to do so.

Before I start bashing the poster movement in this country, I have to admit there are a few people, or places, who are trying and we do appreciate it.

Which leads me to my first point: Memes were funny once, a long time ago, like when they first came out, like before the Lebanese people milked the hell out of them. But then you check facebook and BAM! A meme poster, a meme poster SO BAD that makes you want to gut your eye sockets with a fork. THE HORROR! Tsk tsk tsk and I had expected better from you. Yes, you know who you are. I’m talking to you, event host with usually awesome posters. (Yukunkun, so stop guessing.)

Now everyone repeat after me: I WILL NOT USE MEMES IN MY POSTERS.

(And don’t get me started about that hideous layout.)

Just remember, every time you include memes in your poster, grumpy cat will have multiple seizures and get paralyzed for 24h. haram!

Second point, if you’re doing a poster about a certain era, a certain theme, or a certain subject that has specific characteristics, you freaking research them! Google is magical, and it’s free, learn to use it for the love of god (or yoda). I understand you have a liking for a certain style, a certain movement or a certain Photoshop effect (pukes-a-bit), but please spare our intellectual knowledge and get inspired by what you are designing for, not what you like (or simply know what to do). If you are, for example, doing a poster about 80’s night, and you get inspired from the art nouveau movement and apply its characteristics onto that poster, I will hunt you down, and may the universe be witness, I will hunt you down and will lock you in a room and make you listen to nails screeching on boards all day!

Third, it has become apparent to me that the people doing posters for those glittery parties are glitterophobic themselves. I mean, why else would they undermine the whole glitter loving community by making such hideous posters for them. Or is this some kind of corporate agenda testing people’s response to such things. I mean I’m trying to make sense out of things, give them a little credit even though they completely disregard our own.

Everyone, repeat after me:

I SHALL NOT USE DAFONT-ish TYPEFACES

(If I don’t know what a proper typeface is and how to kern it)

I SHALL NOT BOMBARD THE POSTER WITH…

You know what, no, I don’t even know why I bother, this is a hopeless case. I guess I’ll have to just learn how to deal with it in the hopes that it won’t make me anorexic or worst, BULIMIC!

And please do not let me start talking about those facebook posts with pretty pictures and Paolo Coelho-ish quotes (barf!)

In the end my dear readers, all I have to say is, if you think you’re a good designer, please think again! Ask around; take feedback on your posters or anything you design. Who knows, maybe you’ll discover that you have wasted half your life in this stupid field where as you could’ve been fulfilling your true destiny of becoming a door-to-door encyclopedia salesperson. It’s never too late!

14 comments
  1. anastasia said:

    BEST REVIEW YET! your blog is one of the very VERY few blogs that actually criticizes and gives a real review without giving a damn about what the firms or designers might think or feel. It is sincere which makes every post worth reading!

  2. EsteemedAdCritic said:

    You seem really angry. Did you skip the PMS pill, because you hate its packaging design?

    • N. said:

      if the packaging followed the Lebanese “design” patterns then you bet i did, which kinda also explains why i gave up on all my other pills and often find myself throwing up in the middle of the street because of the constant nausea ’caused by this visually-disturbing country.
      aren’t i just a joy?

  3. This has always been an issue, it’s not a new epidemic at all. There’ll always be a designer who is “self taught” who will do it cheaper than you. Or the interior designer/architect/web design student who think just because they’ve studied one form of design then they know how to compose a well designed poster.

    There’ll always be those clients (especially when you’re doing freelance) that will say something like “But my cousin Elie knows Photoshop and doesn’t charge this much!” when they find out how much you charge.

    And finally there will always be shitty designers in more abundance than good designers just because our design schools aren’t that tough. At least they weren’t when I was attending university in Lebanon. Students will major in GD if they fail out of architecture or if they just plainly think it’s an “easy” major just because we draw a lot. They will half ass their work or just plainly rip off other peoples work without the professors realizing it.

    I’ve heard certain GD programs are getting tougher, anyways the first step in changing all this is to educate the masses, which is what I would do when I had ignorant clients and they would eventually come to my side and not their cousin Elie.

  4. Patrick said:

    This has always been an issue, it’s not a new epidemic at all. There’ll always be a designer who is “self taught” who will do it cheaper than you. Or the interior designer/architect/web design student who think just because they’ve studied one form of design then they know how to compose a well designed poster.

    There’ll always be those clients (especially when you’re doing freelance) that will say something like “But my cousin Elie knows Photoshop and doesn’t charge this much!” when they find out how much you charge.

    And finally there will always be shitty designers in more abundance than good designers just because our design schools aren’t that tough. At least they weren’t when I was attending university in Lebanon. Students will major in GD if they fail out of architecture or if they just plainly think it’s an “easy” major just because we draw a lot. They will half ass their work or just plainly rip off other peoples work without the professors realizing it.

    I’ve heard certain GD programs are getting tougher, anyways the first step in changing all this is to educate the masses, which is what I would do when I had ignorant clients and they would eventually come to my side and not their cousin Elie.

  5. elieakl@hotmail.com said:

    I think you need to go out from your room/office and have drink.
    cheers

  6. Have you been sold bad weed?
    Please man make yourself a favor and read what you write before publishing? or at least let the “R” read it for you.

    • N. said:

      YES! my dealer has been screwing with me lately and selling me damaged goods
      i want what you’re on!

  7. Gaby said:

    “The Cousin Elie” story is just a load of BS guys…I mean, when I first went into the field, back in the day I was taught 2 things:

    – Our job is a “single unique couture” type. It should be wow, should be unique and is the couture type meaning its not mass made, its thought through, designed meticulously to perfection

    – Our job is not “time based” meaning we don’t have a 9-5 job, which also means everything should and can inspire from our life stories to the images we see around, and damn are we being bombarded with mass puke-level images.

    This country needs a visual culture, hell, culture in general. Music, media, mainstream programs, stories, movements, films, arts, communication! I believe change can happen or be triggered through these. Unfortunately it isn’t.

    Keep doing a great job on this blog, it’s really pointing out so many of the ideas I have stuck in my head….I come from a family of advertisers and communication people. If only I can share all I know…filth.

  8. EsteemedAdCritic said:

    I don’t think a degree makes you a better designer. Many of today’s design crimes are committed by people who hold a Masters in Graphic Design or Art Direction. So an LAU grad is not necessarily better than your cousin who knows Photoshop. Design is not rocket science. There basic rules can be learnt in two days. The rest is just trial and error.

  9. Patrick said:

    I just want to clarify something about my point of the “my cousin Elie” story.

    What I was trying to say (probably should have just stated it more clearly) isn’t that only graphic design graduates can do a proper job at creating visually interesting posters but that some people think that graphic design is JUST the software we use and if you have the software then you can design. That simply isn’t true because there are fundamentals that you need to know. It’s not rocket science, yet it doesn’t seem like some designers in Lebanon know them.

    • Anastasia Matar said:

      True that design is no rocket science and there are some fundimentals in this field but the problem lies not in the education you recieve but the general culture of the society for which you are designing. It all starts with college when your teachers are all clones of each other with their swiss clean approach. You can never have good designers graduating when they do not have any exposure to different design schools. As for self-taught desingers, there are 2 categories, the older generation that taught itself thru the war (which are usually amazing designers because they went into this field for all the right reason and with passion) and the newbies that usually learn photoshop (without bothering about illustrator) and that is the scary type.

      Sorry for the long post :$

      • Admin I said:

        I have to agree here. Design is not related to schooling, or software knowledge or the wasta that can get people to creative positions everywhere, to me it’s more about general culture. The more you know about everything, your surroundings, your society and the world, the better designer you can be.. Computer junkies cannot design, whoever researches online and wears Louboutin to work, cannot design. cannot.

Leave a Reply

