A letter to the BIG guy up there

Illustration by Admin I

A letter to the big guy up there (not you God, talking to the boss)

By Admin N : Hello, remember me? I’m the weird employee with the big occasionally unwashed hair and draggy clothes because you make me stay overtime and don’t pay me for it. But hey! I’m not complaining, I’m learning a lot from you, I mean who knew drop shadows and gradients could add so much deepness to a visual?!

Still don’t ring a bell? You once commented on a ring I was wearing saying that you liked it. It was vintage and it belonged to my grandmother. Thank god you didn’t see my bloody fingers after biting my nails from all the stress of having me use vector art in a poster I was designing!

Wow! You still haven’t recognized me?!?! Seriously? Even after you’ve made me add fugly templates to your presentations?  After all the clip arts I’ve used, the free fonts I’ve downloaded and your wife’s pictures that I had to Photoshop? But hey, you once said that I make excellent coffee and that was just enough I guess, no?

And so, even when all my hard work and sacrifice goes unnoticed, on this Labor Day, I’d like to thank you. Thank you Mr. boss-man for crushing every dream I had in university, every hope and every struggle; every fight I’ve had with one of my classmates or teachers over a choice of typeface, a concept, a visual etc…

Occupy the office!

No really: Let’s OCCUPY THE OFFICE, because in 2012 no one wants to work for the big guy anymore!

18 comments
  1. Matt said:

    Admin N smart and hilarious as always!

  2. admin N said:

    aww thanks Matt!
    always a pleasure to read you comments 🙂

    • Admin I said:

      We will, in a couple of years.. or else we’d end up homeless 😀

  3. now, being the small guy myself, would it be completely inappropriate if i were to publicly make you a job offer 🙂

    • Admin I said:

      Nothing is inappropriate.. you can publicly do whatever you like doing.. isn’t that what you were defending at the Creative Legacy 2 weeks ago? I’d be honored 🙂

      • true that. lets do this!
        i just hope we can afford you 😉

      • Alsharq Al Awsat Building,1st Floor, Badaro Street, Beirut
        telephone: 00961 (0) 1 383 604
        mobile: 00961 (0) 3 984 524

        Call me first thing Monday morning baby 🙂 for long overdue Interesting Meeting 😉

      • Admin I said:

        will call Monday morning, but you know how my schedule suck, so probably we’ll meet in the afternoon if it suits you.. (readers: I’m not desperate OKAY!?)

      • oh i know the big guy don’t like it when you take long lunches (he’s always worried you’re out getting a better offer)
        done deal. we can meet up early evening on Monday! and for the record, i think i sound way more desperate than you 😉 but who gives a

      • Admin I said:

        Hahaha that big guy might be reading! And that’s why it’s soo much fun!! I’m off work on Monday afternoon, will set a time when we talk by phone 🙂 till then Mr!!

  4. (a little somethin i wrote a little over a year ago)

    ‘When the world changes fundamentally, survival depends on fundamental change’
    HHCL 1997

    We find it amusingly ironic that HHCL would published a manifesto warning ad agencies about the dire need to change, catch the unflinching eye of WPP who would shortly after buy out HHCL, and eventually shut it down in early 2007.

    Little did they seem to know the true worth of that document published back in 1997. Hasn’t change always been the only constant? We are definitely not going to preach to the choir here. We know you know that the media landscape has changed. And it sure goes without say that the consumer has changed. But through it all, someone else has changed. Today, the men behind the curtains have also changed. Even in the Middle East, people in creative agencies who have long been eyeing change, have now themselves changed. It seems as thought it were in our DNA to seek a good job in a big corporation, and stay at it, fighting our way up until the day we die at the corporate desk. But a brave few are starting to think differently, and starting new. More good guys at big agencies are thinking small and fast.

    All around the world, we see major corporations bleeding talent for all the same reasons. They now realize that it is time to restructure; now or never. Take Google.
    There change of leadership is likely to bring a change in corporate culture too, which is evident from Page’s statement, “My goal is to run Google at the pace and with the soul and passion of a startup.” Let’s see how this change pans out for Google, which is now facing multiple threats in the form of faster and lither competitors and increased government scrutiny. (source Yahooo) Not only from a revenue perspective but mainly from a talent perspective. Google appears to be bleeding talent. In recent weeks, it was confirmed that Omar Hamoui, former AdMob founder, and Lars Rasmussen, Google Maps and Google Wave creator, have both left the company. (source TMCnet)

    Corporations seem to be restructuring not to meet new technologies or clients needs, but to meet talent needs. Have they finally realized that their business depends on it? If you are a talented person sitting behind a desk at some big corporation, then this all is nothing but good news to you. What the new talents of today really want is to do great work. And a truly creative agency knows that if you focus on the work, the money will come. So if you’re a big corporation you better restructure to keep your talent. It is either that, or today’s talents will only up and follow their dream and start their own little thing. But all is well that ends well. If you are a talented person thinking of starting up, or a big corporation thinking of restructuring, three words: never fear change. May you always live in interesting times.

    • Admin I said:

      Julien this is soooo worth publishing, give me the green light to delete this comment and publish it as a proper post!!!

      • Admin I said:

        Haha!! shiiit! It’s Jimmy, am super sorry! See the big guy’s effect on a brain?! 🙂 .. So is that an okay for publishing?

      • DO IT (but check yo gmail first)

Leave a Reply

